IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year of fishing in Oregon.
What I hope to land are, Steelheads, Salmon and if possible a good size Sturgeon.

Where can I go to fish off the banks?
I have a faire knowledge of the Sandy, Willamete and Clackamas River.

1. Is the Williame Dam pool a good spot for Sturgeon.
2. What are good baits for Steelheads?

3. When is the best time to go?

·
Registered
869 Posts
Sunfish~

I don't recall reading your traditional story. You'll get a bunch more help if you take a moment and tell a good fishing story. The rivers you've mentioned are good all around fishing for both Steelhead, Salmon and Sturgeon. Story please.....

·
Registered
532 Posts
i agree with fisherfld,,, story 1st, then the goods

·
Registered
6,569 Posts
Bankin' it for those species, I'd say you should hit the northern beaches of Sauvie Island. Think: senior citizens as an educational resource.

:cheers: howdy

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for those who replied.

Story:
I walked from I-84 to the mouth of the Sandy, thinking it will meet in less than a mile or so.
Not knowing the area well, I took the venture, to find it's closed to 2 miles. walked all day, by the time I got back to my car I had maybe half an hour to fish. Saw couple if anglers fishing under the I-84 bridge, thinking why are they fishing here, there's no fish here, all the boats roaring pass, plus the water is so shallow. no way. So I approached the fellas and inquired what they were fishing for, steelheads! I'm thinking here? no way. They were packing up as I approcahed them, since my pole was ready to fish and since I came out to fish. I figure I give it a try. on my 8th cast I hooked a native 7-8 pounder, hearts starts pumping, took me close to 30 minutes to reel the beauty in. It was a wonderful experience. It was good to see he was still healthy releasing him.