IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been fishing the same lines for quite a few years now and was intersted in trying others to see if there are some I would like better. If you care to give your opinion on your favorite line, please let me know. Here's what I currently go with for Steelhead.

Summer water conditions - 8lb Izorline Platinum

Advantages - Strong, good clarity while in the water, inexpensive($34 7500yds), low memory

Disadvantages - Not great abrasion resistance, streches out fairly quick

Winter water conditions - 12lb Maxima Ultragreen

Advantages - Strong, good clarity while in the water, decent abrasion resistance

Disadvantages - Streches out quickly, expensive.

·
Registered
2,964 Posts
Rip a lip

Ultra-green or Trileen XT :smile:

Geek
"After this lamaze class is over, ya doin anything?" :grin:

·
Registered
1,945 Posts
Steelhead(SUMMER): Sufix DNA 10lb.
Limp smooth low memory and casts like a dream

BIG steelhead (winter) 15lb. ultragreen
Strong strong strong
little too much memory hard to cast light offerings (very stiff)

Salmon Power pro mainline and berkley big game leaders

Berkeley big game is the best in oversized mono in my opinion. It ties wonderful knots and has amazing abrasion resistance. Power pro because it floats (bobber man only)and is small diameter.

This what you were looking for?

MH

·
Registered
790 Posts
For drifting and jig/float fishing, I use Spiderwire Fusion.

For pitching hardware, I use Trilene Big Game.

For big water trolling (mainstem CR, Buoy 10), I go with Tuff Line or Spidewire.

·
Registered
287 Posts
steelhead/spinners: 10# silver thread co-polymer.
steelhead/bobber: power pro main, fluorocarbon leader.
salmon: power pro.

·
Registered
5,720 Posts