IFish.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody going out for tuna from Westport on Sunday? I'm planning a trip and would like to be in contact with any other boats headed out.

I'm a new Ifisher and have never been tuna fishing before but after reading the posts on this site, my heart is pounding and I'm ready to go. I have plenty of salmon fishing experience, a good boat and a crew member with tuna experience.

I met Tower Todd on the dock last weekend and after reading his report, I wish I had been tuna fishing rather than salmon fishing. We caught lots of coho and a couple of not very big kings. Kept fishing till early afternoon hoping to get something bigger but to no avail. We released about 40 coho but never got to hear the reels sing. I'm hoping to change that this weekend.

I'm planning to head out to the same area Todd mentioned in his report unless somebody gives me more recent numbers. Anyway, if you're planning a tuna trip Sunday out of Westport, I would love to be in contact with you...

Kurt

·
Registered
514 Posts
Headed out Saturday from Westport; headed SW to find some fishies of the longfin variety:food:

·
Registered
514 Posts
Hey, Todd,

Does it look good in the same area you reported on previously, or in different areas? I figure it's about 49mi SW from Westport....

·
Registered
36 Posts
The Double Down will be heading out for tuna as well -- looking forward to it. We'll be monitoring channels 16 and 68. Does anyone have a recent report on the location of the fish? What is your call sign?

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
Welcome aboard and good luck out there. Looks like you'll have some company to assist with #s while you're out.

Make sure you lose your virginity properly. Nothing tastes as sweet as a hot, still beating tuna heart:food:

·
Registered
15 Posts