IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
4,487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A couple of you asked to see a picture of my boat. Well here she is, along with the story of how and why I built her.

I'm a Union Journeyman Carpenter. I've pretty much built everything a carpenter could build in the past 25 or so years, from new houses in the 70's and 80's to huge commercial stuff like bridges, churches, hospitals, and commercial "tilt-ups".

Well, about a year ago, I ruptured the lower two disks in my back pumping concrete for a tilt-up project. I pretty much spent the summer in pain waiting for SAIF to decide what to do with me. In the late summer I had back surgury and that pretty much fixed my back. As it turns out, I won't we able to go back into contruction. A couple of months after surgery my back was feeling better, I was really going stir crazy and I needed to do something. I had been thinking of building a boat for years, so now seen as good a time as any.

I picked up a set of plans for the "Nez Pierce 16" from the designer, Ken Swan in Hubbard, OR. Even though I am a carpenter, I wanted a design that wouldn't be too difficult for my first time. This boat is perfect for the first time boat builder, even if you're not a carpenter. The plans say aprox. 80 hrs to build. I didn't keep track of my hours, but that seems about right. The frames are clear fir. Next time I'll use mahogany, the fir splits to easily. The sheer (sides)and bottom are 3/8 okume marine plywood. It has white oak rub rails on the bottom The gunnels and stem are mahogany. I decided that it need a little jazzing up, so I used purple heart for the breasthook and knee braces and black walnut for the gunnel spacers and rowing chocks. Everything is glued with thickened marine epoxy, and fastened with silicon/bronze, square drive wood screws.