IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not sure where we should go. We have been plunking the CR and doing pretty well but last weekend it died for us. With the nets in I think the only fish will be in the main channel which we cant reach from the bank.
So I got some first cast jigs that I purchased a while ago. I am new to drift fishing. I know how to rig up but dont know where to go. I was thinking of driving down to Astoria and trying the Klaskinine "Rouges". But I have know idea where I am going. I know right be for you cross Youngs Bay bridge you take a left up that valley. That is it. I am not sure if there is any fish there still.
I would like to stay away from the snaggers. My son is 9 and I really dont want to expose him to that type of fishing. I would like him to catch a few fish in a drift before even see's people doing that, that way I can explain to him better that is not the way to catch fish and it is illegal.
I also have eggs, corkies and yarn if need be. If you dont think that River is good right now can someone suggest a river with some simple directions.
I really dont want to go to a crowded hole being I am new to drift fishing.
Emails or private messages are fine.

If anyone can suggest anywhere with in driving distance at least I will be pointed in the right direction. :smile:
Stealhead_Scout

·
Registered
1,124 Posts