IFish.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to hear some thoughts on the run this year. How's it been? Where to go? Where not to go? Preferred method? Any pics?

This is my first year fishing for Steelhead, so I would like to pick your brains.

·
Registered
529 Posts
Addicted to salmon now, ask in winter. Get em while they are here!

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
There comes a time when its time for a change. When the freezer is already full of Salmon and you want new challeges, you try something different.
Josh,
Good luck on your Salmon, but last I heard you cant catch a summer steelhead in the winter.

·
Registered
529 Posts
Currently not fishing steelhead. Sorry, been doing quite a bit of salmon fishing lately, the fun gets out. I have seen the bankies catching a lot of steelhead up by bonneville the last few days. Most fish are being caught with spin-glo and they are also using rainbow spinners. Seen more steelhead taken from bank then boat the last week. Not many fisherman up by bonnie yet. The gillnetters are anchored up there, don't know when they are fishing though. Today saw maybe 10 steelhead caught off bank above the fishery, no salmon for me today but a few on monday including one 30+. Thats my report for now.

·
Registered
1,275 Posts
My summer Steelhead this year was a bust so far. Only say that, cause it could change once we get some rain. I got 5 on my tags so far. All from the Wilson River.

Prefered method depended on on water conditions and flow. At the start, we had some rain that gave me a 2 day window of opportunity which I did get 3. 1 on the pink worm and 2 on bobber and jig. As the water dropped and it was stagnate, I went to 6lb florocarbine and a nice First Bite Micro Jig. Fished the fast white water and came up with 2 on seperate trips.