IFish.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been a little out of touch lately. We've been hittin the salt for salmon and tuna. Now it's time to hit the Columbia/Willamette for sturgeon. Kelly point area is prefered.
Is it open for retention? What seems to produce for bait(I have some vacume packed Sandy smelt from earlier this year)? K.P. honey hole or what?

Comeon you gator hounds, cough it up. If I see you out there I'll buy you a beer :cheers:

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
From what I've been hearing most are catching shakers and very few keepers. The big boys are still holed up in the estuaries. I think that area is open though. I had good luck this year with anchovies and shrimp. :cheers:

·
Registered
38 Posts
I"ve been fishing TROJAN just because I'm new to the gator thing and don't know anywhere else to fish. I've been out four times 2 keepers. Lots of shorts. From what I'm hearing that seems to be the norm. I also have frozen smelt but it's from the cowlitz. As far as the estuary it's closed for retention! I've heard the WANA area is good and under fished right now. I might have to get a map and check it out. Good luck and good fishing.

·
Registered
381 Posts
Phantom, where do you launch to fish trojan? I haven't fished trojan yet but would like to try it. Where to you anchor?

-6horse

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the information that we've got so far. We'll be heading that way in the a.m. and put in at Fred's, as usual.
Really thought I would have gotten a little more chat about this. :shrug: Whats-up?

·
Registered
38 Posts