IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
641 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to sturgeon fishing, have yet to get a keeper. About a month and a half ago I was fishing the willamette, catch and release. Now that its open again I went out with the same bait, (smelt) and couldnt touch a thing. A month ago I wouldnt sit for 5 minutes without a bite.
Is there any rhyme or reason to times to use certain bait?

·
Registered
3,924 Posts
Somedays just seem to go that way. Keep at it and you will get your keeper. Smelt is generally a good bait and consistently catches fish. There are others including eel, squid, shad, sandshrimp and nightcrawlers. Personally I use smelt 90% of the time in the upper river (above Wauna) with good to excellent success. Sometimes just putting a little shrimp, anise or 'sturgeon feast' scent on the smelt can make a world of difference in results. Other days, they like it straight smelt.

Be sure to move if you don't get into fish within 30 minutes or so. A fish that is not there can't bite your bait. :wink:

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
froggy, i'm no expert but as far as sturge bait goes i always like to pack a variety of different baits to offer. my standard of course is smelt, but the gator can be finicky so i also always make sure to bring sand shrimp, pickled squid, shad, and whatever else i can find. had my best day last year at t-6 (50+fish to the boat) using smelt and pickled squid combo while other boats in the area were just doing so-so using straight smelt. the other thing i do might sound kinda goofy but a friend told me a guide told him to use 12-d on your smelt....(step on it) he said it squishes out more scent. works for me

·
Registered
11,223 Posts