IFish.net banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings to all my Ifish friends. While I certainly realize that steelheading with spinners is not myth...I thought more people would respond if they were up in arms!!!

I would really like to hear some techniques, recommended river conditions, spinner sizes etc etc. I've never tried spinners on steelhead...or salmon for that matter...and thought I would seek some Ifisher sage advice!

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
I'm a novice also , But I got my first spinner; steelhead on a blue fox #4 metalic blue spinner casting up stream and reeling slowing leting it tic the bottom every now and then. The water color was steelhead green. I also put a Gamakatsu siwash hook on instead of the treble. Hope this helps a little....Ross

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
FH...did you add lead? What about swivels? Did you tie directly to the main line?

Thanks for the info!

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
spinners dont work for anything :grin:

we use blue fox #4 in chartreuse, green, red, and pink. put a 1/0 siwash on them cast up stream into the fast water and reel down stream so it flutters, sometimes the fish will take it on the down stream swing. when they do take it there is no douubt you got bit, they hammer em. good luck and ask any questions, im sure my wife could answer all them for you. it' all she uses

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
I don't use lead and I just tied on to the spinner, I have the pink and chartreuse blue fox in size #4 But never caught a steelhead on them Not sure if they are the right colors, although the slivers love them. I also put a drop of smelly jelly Craw/Anise on the hook....Ross

·
Registered
13,626 Posts
Think pocket water. They swing on flats pretty well. But that single fish lying behind a rock is money in the bank.