IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will be traveling from Spokane to Port Angeles at the end of this month. Could any of you recommend a steelhead fishing guide I could hire for the day in that area? (I'm thinking drift boat fishing.) I am a complete novice and I don't even know if there are any good rivers in that area ....
Thanks.

· Registered
2,864 Posts
Queets, Hoh , Quinalt, Bogoshiel(sp), and the Sol Duc all have good runs and can keep one Native in some of the streams. Do not use under 20# test in Feb tho. Check the site on Forks Washington and it will show guides. Al Scherich and Ron Gras are 2 of the best.

[ 01-07-2004, 11:24 AM: Message edited by: No Wishin Just Fishin ]

· Registered
199 Posts
I highly recommend Jim Richenson. I've fished with Jim on several occasions as well as other guides on the peninsula. Jim is top notch, knows his stuff and works his butt off to get you fish. He's hardcore!!!! Dawn to dusk if you let him!!!

Tell him Mark from Lynden sent ya

[ 01-08-2004, 12:01 PM: Message edited by: [email protected] ]

· Registered
400 Posts
I too would like to venture north, AA, I have heard of the enornous fish that this pensula offers, if you have the oppertunity to go you are in for a treat!!! That place is a legend! :tongue:

· Registered
1,311 Posts
You can't go wrong with Bob Ball, over on Piscatorial Pursuits (www.piscatorialpursuits.com). I'd email him and see if he has any days open. If not, get a recommendation from him.

There are a bazillion guides over on the OP. Some are good, many are not. I'd really try to do my homework before signing up with a guide over there.

You could also try fishing with a tribal guide on the Quinault. The Quinault pumps out many big fish that time of year, and would be another good choice.