IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to steelhead fishing and have a couple of questions:

1. Does anyone use a clip or a snap at the end of there fluorocarbon leader when float fishing to quickly change jigs and save there leader length?

2. does anyone have an experience with the Okuma Celilo medium light 9'6 ?

3. How you connect your main line to your leader with a knot or swivel?

·
Registered
My favorite color is CHROME!!!
1,711 Posts
Welcome to a whole new world!

I have not used clips for steelhead, but have recently started to use them for crappie. I’m going to pick up some to try for steelhead the next time I see some.

The Celilo is a decent rod to start with. Inexpensive incase you have an “oops” moment.

Many people use a double uni knot or similar to attach mainline to leader, but I don’t seem to tie them right and have more failures that way than using a small swivel. I recently picked up some 3mm tippet rings that I’m going to give a try. I use the smaller ones a lot for fly fishing and think they would work well for steelhead.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: Adam.H1

·
Registered
300 Posts
1. I wouldn’t recommend using a clip for attaching your jig. Get quick at tying knots, I would recommend the improved Trilene knot which has 2 wraps through the eye.

2. I haven’t used an okuma rod, but use the best you can afford. I started with a rod from Fred Meyers. A good starter rod is a Lamiglas X11 9’6”.

3. I recommend an Alberto splice knot to attach braid to mono or fluorocarbon. (If that was the question.)

-Barry

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
1. I wouldn’t recommend using a clip for attaching your jig. Get quick at tying knots, I would recommend the improved Trilene knot which has 2 wraps through the eye.

2. I haven’t used an okuma rod, but use the best you can afford. I started with a rod from Fred Meyers. A good starter rod is a Lamiglas X11 9’6”.