IFish.net banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey, I am very new to the fantastic sport of fly fishing. i just picked up a 5wt 8.5 ft Temple Fork rod and a Okuma Sierra reel. I have Mainstream 5 floating weight forward line. I feel pretty confident about my rod/reel/line combo but am not too sure on what to do about leader, tippet and especially flies. I know that the fly question usually depends on when and where you will be fishing so I will give you all the lowdown on my upcoming plans.

I will be headed south to the Bend area, Sparks Lake specifically, next weekend. I will be targeting Sparks Lake to fish for trout. My question to you all is what leader/tippet combination should I be using for a calm water lake? Also, are there specif flies that would work best for this type of lake?

Can anyone help me out and make my first REAL fly fishing trip a success?
Thanks in advance
Jason

·
Banned
1,300 Posts
Re: Sparks Lake QUESTIONS from a Fly Fishing Newbie

I usually start with a 10' tapered leader and then start tying tippet on after I've broken off a foot or two. Generally 5X or 6X. I'm not a master of casting, I tend to have trouble with much longer leaders. Know the "surgeon's loop."

I haven't fished Sparks much lately, we used to camp there every year when I was a kid.

Aside from trying to match the hatch, my go-to fly is the elk-hair caddis. 2nd place, the Royal Coachman. Be prepared with some tiny black things and perhaps a grasshopper or three this time of year.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Re: Sparks Lake QUESTIONS from a Fly Fishing Newbie

Brookies tend to like small streamers and bright colored wet flys. Have had good luck wuth Zonkers, Spruce, Micky Finns, and muddlers. Also done well on Egg Sucking Wolly Bugger (olive, purple, orange/grizzly, red/yellow) or Timberline Emergers. Sparks hasn't been as goodas it was a few years ago, but got a couple dozen the last time I spent a weekend up there. Tight Lines!

·