IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking into drifting the South Santiam from pleasant view to Waterloo . I have never done it before and was wondering what is the minimum water level I can do it in a drift boat without beating up my boat ? Also is there any spots that are difficult navigating ?
Thanks !!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
59 Posts
I am looking into drifting the South Santiam from pleasant view to Waterloo . I have never done it before and was wondering what is the minimum water level I can do it in a drift boat without beating up my boat ? Also is there any spots that are difficult navigating ?
Thanks !!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Since I don't see any replies I'll jump in and try to help. Have not done that drift but have done the dam to Pleasant Valley many times, right now river is running about 1250 CFS and that is enough to easily navigate. I've done it under 1000 CFS and that is getting pretty skinny but still do-able. There are a few places you have to pay attention up there but nothing ass puckering.

Know folks that have done PV to Waterloo and its a long drift give yourself lots of time. With low flow it can be pretty slow. Do NOT miss the take out Waterloo is a falls not just a rapid. From what I've been told the drift is pretty slow and froggy nothing difficult. If you go on a hot day be prepared to navigate through a water toy and beer cooler flotilla. Good luck.

·
Registered
3,107 Posts
I've floated it. Easy never paid attention to the level just put in and went for it. Bring some rope in case you have to get out and float the boat down. Some very good water in there.

·
Registered
2,679 Posts