IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got it from my mom a few months ago. Contained tackle and a reel. Any of this stuff unique or is it pretty much just common old standard fair?

Don't plan on getting rid of any. Thinking about polising up the spoons that aren't too beat up to maybe framin' them or the like. From what I recall my mom sayin' - he did mostly lake fishing in the upper penninsula of Michigan.

Any input appreciated.

StinkyH

The pic is kinda dark as I didn't use a flash(didn't want bright reflections off the spoons).

[ 10-14-2003, 11:47 AM: Message edited by: StinkyH ]

·
Registered
1,681 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The reel is a Criterion Level Winding Shakespeare - model 1960. From what I found on the web - it's pretty standard fare? Pretty neat lookin. :smile:

StinkyH

·
Banned
1,433 Posts
I'm no expert. In fact, I'm no amateur about old tackle either.

But I do have an odd assortment of old lures and such that I've accumulated and inherited from my late "grampa", and other sources. I thought there was some collector value in what I had, but I don't think it's worth too much.

My opinion is to keep what you like, try it when the mood strikes you, and be happy with the memory. It is worth way more than the fish you may catch.

The intrigue of fishing with old tackle is worth more to me than using the Hot Bait of the day in the boat next to me. But that's just me... :smile:

Catch some fish on those old lures dude! :dance:

[ 10-09-2003, 06:09 AM: Message edited by: WheresMyBobber ]

·
Banned
8,867 Posts
Whoa!!!
Looks like a GOLD MINE of memories there. If they could only talk! I really like the Red and white 3 spooned Devil. Looks like some good wall mounts there and a pic of Grandpa to go with.

[ 10-10-2003, 05:20 AM: Message edited by: Fshklr ]

·
Registered
2,155 Posts