IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
400 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We often hear this phenomenon called a sneaker wave. in my humble opinion there is no such thing as a sneaker wave.
In the surfers language, which I am Also an expert at ,this is called the ninth -ninth wave, or the 81st wave.
If you do get caught outside and the bar is rough it is very simple to sit outside the breakers and count the swells, you will find they come in series of 9;
Starting at no.1 the swells will start building up until they reach the breaking point which usually starts at No. 7 swell and continues through No. 8 and 9, No. 9 will always be the biggest one that is the one you want to follow in if you have to.
When coming in, during rough bar conditions I usually sit outside and count the swells, these are called sets.
Once you get the pattern of the swells established, try to come in between numbers 2 and 3. the secret. here is don’t panic and climb over the No. 9 swell and get ahead of the breaker,
As the swells come in, they get slower and slower until they reached their breaking point [which may be as slow as five miles in hour] and you may have the urge to power forward this could be disastrous if you climb over the face of a breaker.
The Dorey a fisherman at Pacific City have been doing this for years, succesfully.

·
Banned
19,959 Posts