IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,653 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks.... I was just reading the "2 things I don't like about my Alumaweld" thread.

A snap-on bow cover came up, and I was wonderin' if any of my fellow ifishers had any ideas/insights about whether they work, the cost, availability, and who's the best to go to for installation....

I have a 19' Stryker, and since I'm a relative newbie to this size of boat, I didn't know such a thing was even available.... although it's something I've clearly needed (especially last fall in a westerly wind of 20-30mph at the mouth of the Klickitat, and then again, coming back from the John Day a couple of months ago)... :rolleyes:

"Top Gun" canvas seems to be the cloth of choice for this application... Any ideas/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.... Thanks, Tim :smile:

·
Registered
12,182 Posts
there's a shop that makes boat tops in milwaukie, We had our top and bow cover made there. They do good work. I'd recommend a good bow cover, it's nice it rough water. It's saved out rear ends a few times, and when the boat mooored over night, we put all the gear up under it for protection.
Oh, the place is called Bentley's

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
TimInTheGorge,

I'd recommend Carol's Custom Canvas in Portland, right off the Columbia near Jantzen Beach.

They did all the repairs needed to the Bentley top on my North River, poorly installed snaps.

They did the custom top on my new boat.

Brion

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
My boat came with one, so I can't help on where to have one made, but it sure helped at Astoria last year after the wind came up. I put mine on for the drive home as well, like GBS said above, put all the gear under there and you don't have to worry about it blowing out.

Scott

·
Registered
12,322 Posts