IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
did i read that right there are a few shad in the willamete i can hardly wait for those stinky little buggers it,s not a habit it,s an adicition i need a shad fix :dance:

·
Registered
144 Posts
I have the same addiction you do when it comes to them buggers. It usually ends up the same old thing everytime, 6-10 foot sturgeon on and the fight begins. Nothing like watching someone catch a fish that is twice as big as them.

·
Registered
214 Posts
I was at Fisherman's Marine yesterday and I was surprized to see they were putting up a shad gear display in the front of the store. I guess they are already at Oregon City, but they guy said they won't start biting until the water warms up to the mid-fifties or more. Oh well, guess we'll have to keep chasing springers!!!! :wink:

·
Registered
15 Posts
I'm a rookie in the shad business. Can you fish from boat or is it a bank show below dams? What are the common baits for shad? How big is an average sized shad? What is the life cycle of the shad? I hope that wasn't too many questions!
Thanks

·
Registered
3,249 Posts
you can fish from both the bank and boat for shad. Chartruese Grubs and dick nite spoons are the gear to use. My personal favorite is a chartruese Dick nite or bronze and red tip.

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
Klick,
The dick nite spoons and chartruese grubs work well, but my favorite shad lure is to take a brass barrel swivel and attach a #6 siwash hook to one end. Tie on a 4 foot leader and slide a 5mm chartruese bead down to the swivel. Fish it behind a hot-n-tot diver or use a 2 foot lead dropper.
If you fish the dick nite's, make sure you are using at least steelhead gear. An occasional chinook may take a liking to that dick nite.

·
Registered
173 Posts
brshooter hit it right on the head....gold and silver "flickr" spinners with the blades removed were the ticket for us last year.....