IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How hard is it to wire a second battery and switch in to a boat.
two sets of wires, 1 switch 2 batterys.
Am I missing something. I was just quoted 250.00. for just the wires and switch installed. What am I missing?

·
Registered
3,431 Posts
There isn't much to it. I'm far from a mechanic and I did it successfully. The switch comes with instructions.

That quote seems a bit on the high side to me. Of course, we are talking "marine" which quadruples all prices, in my experience at least.

·
Registered
17,013 Posts
If the switch comes with a wiring diagram it should be very easy - assuming there's room to work in your boat for mounting the switch, running the cables, etc.

WestMarine offers 4-position (off, A, B, A+B)Perco Battery switch for $37, just add cables and you're there.

It's also easy to connect accessories to the switch's lugs so that everything is wired to the switch and not to the batteries.

·
Registered
8,997 Posts
The hardest part for me was finding cables long enough without making my own, mounting the battery box, and switch. Otherwise, it wasn't a big deal.

·
Registered
19,910 Posts
Bassin,you'll also need a battery isolator. This divice knows which battery is lowest,and will apply the alternator charge to that battery. You can't simultaneously charge two batteries at the same time,alternator failure will occur.

·
Registered
2,112 Posts
Did the quote include the second battery? Seems way high to me. Should not be a problem finding cables that reach. The switch should be located within 12 inches or so of the batteries anyway. I have this system and it is great!

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you all, I was pretty sure it could not be that tough to do.
I was shocked that for 50 bucks retail parts, plus the battery. would equal 250.00 at the dealer. But I know that service time is high.