IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
512 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This time of year there is no place I would rather fish than the Santiam. Both the North and the South are excellent rivers. I was hoping that fellow drifters would be willing to share their success stories and techniques for this river on an ongoing basis. I'm new to ifish.net but I am not new to fishing the Santiam and would be glad to share. Here is the first bit of info:

The North Santiam from Mehama to Stayton (5/11/03)
The upper stretch of the river seems to only hold steelhead at the monment. The technique I have found most sucessful at this time is to use a bobber and jig. I pull over to the side of the river, where the water runs 3-5 feet and the current is semi-slow(you'll have to llok for these places, they are right on the bank) and let the jig run from my boat downstream 75-150 feet.Pink and white jig worked the best for me.Just run you jig down the side of the bank several times and before you know it the bobber will go down.

If other people are interested in this type of info and are willing to share, I will continue to do so as well. :cool:

[ 05-16-2003, 08:39 AM: Message edited by: Santiamfan ]

·
Banned
2,392 Posts
I'm definitely willing to share everything. Unfortunately, I have very little to share as the N. Santiam has left me skunked the past few times I've fished it. We've thrown everything at them, bobber/jig, corky/yarn, eggs......you name it. I'm definitely not a great steelhead fisherman, but I have put a few marks on the tag, just none from this river. From what I understand though the information you've given is very accurate. Bobber and jig seems to be the go to technique on this river from what I've been told. We normally do the Green's Bridge to Jefferson run, great steelhead water everywhere. Thanks for the post.

·
Registered
4,207 Posts