IFish.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
645 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I know that you probably have had tons of threads like this, but I am new to this area of IFish. My friend hooked me into a steelhead on a fly and now I am hooked.
I am no beginner and I am looking for about a 7 or 8 weight.

I am looking for opinions on rods that cost around 100-150 bucks?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
465 Posts
There are many rods in that price point to look at. Although I am bias, I would choose an Echo Classic 8wt and that guy who designed them lives here in Vancouver. The TFO Professional and signature series also has a following and I think Redington also has similar rods in that ballpark. Regardless, I would recommend casting and looking at several before you buy one. Tightlines,

·
Fly Fisher
2,160 Posts
Doesn't the only fly shop in the Tri-Cities area plan to close (in Kennewick)? Maybe they will have some close out specials?

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
don't forget about some older glass rods like a Fenwick. You could probably even pick up a South Bend Bamboo rod in very fishable condition in that price range. I'll also second the Echo comment. I have one in a 3 wt. and absolutely love it...can't speak for the 8 though...

Randy

·
Registered
7,681 Posts
WWGrigg here in Canby has an 8wt for just under a hundred. I will shake one tonight hopefully, and let you know how it feels. Its listed on their site

·
Registered
10 Posts
There is an advertisement on here from "RIver City Fly shop" Stop by and ask for Don. He is one of the nicest people you want to do business with. He will hook you up with a nice rod and at prices you can afford. He is located off of Shoals fy Road, off route 217 ... Paul

·
Registered
99 Posts