IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2015 Chevy 3500 DRW
58,000 miles
Most miles are hauling 11 foot Arctic Fox truck camper / probably half of those are trips towing a 20 foot Hewescraft Searunner

Purchased new in 2015
5/2021 - front end shimmy when braking - place I take it to says rotors are warped - resurfaced rotors - rotate tires - all good
5/2022 - same issue but seems a bit worse - same solution from shop except this time they discover a caliper seizing so replaced those as well

Just wondering if some of you more mechanical folks have suggestions for a better fix or someone that has experienced the same issue have a suggestion? Seems to me I should not be resurfacing warped rotors every year. I realize I roll around a little "thick" in the weight category but I've been doing that since 2015 so why is it an annual problem now? I feel like I should just replace the rotors at this point but don't know a darn thing about them or what they should be replaced with.

Any help is appreciated. Rolling heavy ain't easy :oops:

·
Registered
1,509 Posts
Unfortunately the quality of rotors these days are not that great, I have the same problem with my 2005 F-150 even after replacing with new ones. I suspect inferior Chinese steel as that's where most of them are made. Maybe try some OEM?

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
I'm amazed that you're having any front brake problems! Chevy's are known for lifetime brakes. I currently have a 2500 and a 3500 DRW, both 2003 4x4 Duramaxes with over 200,000 miles. Both have spent a large percentage of their life towing and/or packing really heavy. The 3500 had the rears done due to a leaky wheel seal, original rotors not turned. Both have original front brakes.