IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
640 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mal du Mer...Can't beat it. I'm doomed. Brand new boat, all set up for the ocean, friends' rarin' to come a with, and I can't do it. I just can't do it.

Now before all you veterans with the magic cures, mental conditioning advocations, and preventative premonitory maneuvers pipe in, I would like to say that I've heard it all, done it all, tried it all. You see, I am an Internal Medicine physician by trade and I've prescribed it all. I've researched it all.

Doomed, Doomed, Doomed.

If you get seasick, you will always get seasick. It takes about 3 to 4 days for most to get their sea legs, but 12 hours on shore and you're vomiting for another couple of days when you head back out(US Navy stats). The lucky seasickers can control it and function. The unlucky ones can rarely, if ever control it no matter what, and will likely never enjoy fishing on ocean swells.

For those of you that think it is psychological, I wish you were right. What is psychological is the fear of REexperiencing a severe episode of seasickness makes it worse when you attempt it again.....and as soon as that old Glassply with a 140 Johnson 2 stroke and concomitant blue cloud of smoke daddles by....its over the gunwale you go....talking to the Gub'nah...

Then, you finally come into port....Nausea improved, but tired and achy and sleepy and grumpy that not only your trip was a complete drag, but the "fun times promised" to your passengers culminates from pity to waste of time to coulda been somewhere else to thoughts of your puking picture in the gossip column as these friends leak the info to the public(usually makes a good story for someone).

Funny thing is, It's not the "roughness of the sea" I don't get seasick in chop, while some do. Its the gentle rolling of a 2 to 4 foot swell that does me in.

Doomed Doomed Doomed.

You'll probably see me in the bay.....
Kurt