IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
539 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this has been discussed on the forum somewhere, but I can't seem to find it.
I am an Oregon resident with a resident tag, I also have a WA non-resident tag. So my question is: If I am fishing on the Columbia, launching from Oregon, can I use my WA tag? I know I can't use both. But if the WA regulations are better at the time, could I use the WA tag or do I have to use my resident state's tag?

· Registered
10,928 Posts
As long as I have fished the Columbia, the regs have always been the same, as far as bag limits go. I think there are some other subtle differences, such as fishing at night, and whether you can keep "fishing for steelhead" after you've filled your salmon limit. In any case, you can fish, from a boat, on either state's license, and put in from a ramp in either state while doing so.

· Registered
2,611 Posts
Aren't the OR & WA regs exactly the same for the CR (for Salmon & Gators)?
No.... they're not the same. For instance, us Wa. fishers can keep two salmon AND two steelhead, while the Or. law reads, two salmon OR two steelhead, or one of each.....

Not that that's an issue since I usually head home not having to rinse my fish box...... :sick:

But to answer your original question, I would think if you have a Wa. license, you could tag 'em on that card, and enjoy the more liberal regs under the Wa. license......

· Registered
5,496 Posts
WAC 220-55-210

Oregon license reciprocity.