IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
605 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Need to replace the oars on the 16' Willie. Currently am using the wooden Sawyer's that came with the boat when I purchased it used. Not going to give up the Willie just the oars. My question is: Is there some type of formula which is used to determine the correct lenght of oars?

I'm not sure if I need 9', 9.5' or 10'ers. I'm self taught on the sticks and learned using what came with the boat. Just time to upgrade and I want to get the proper length. Words of experience would be appreciated.

Also who can get me a good price on composites?

·
Registered
13,823 Posts
9'6" is a fine balance on the Willies.

Composites are not cheap. They are nice. But old fashioned wood still has it's fans.

Mark and the 4'6" dog.

·
Registered
2,884 Posts
I like 9's on my drifter, but I have a pretty good wing span. Also, check out Cataract composite oars. Once you get used to them (they feel different than wood) you will never go back.

RF

·
Registered
2,679 Posts
fatfish, what are you going to do with your wood oars? If your selling, I may interested in buying.

·
Registered
19,907 Posts
Fatfish,I've run 8 1/2ft oars for over 20yrs. I sometimes run a very heavy overloaded boat down the wild section of the Rogue. I also run plugs alot,for my money 8.5 are the way to go. For power you want short quick strokes,which the shorter oars will give you. Also they perform better in tight situations. I'am in the process of cutting down a pair of Sawyer 9.5 counter balanced oars right now.

[ 11-01-2003, 08:19 AM: Message edited by: freespool ]

·
Registered
1,236 Posts