IFish.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just a rookie salmon fisherman, I just caught my first springer ever this year at the head of the channel(only took 30 hours !), but I wonder why nobody trolls for the summer run you all are talking about catching with spinners and Alvins? Does the flasher and herring rig not work at all?
I can troll for hours, but sit me in one spot for a half hour and I'm ready to go home :depressed:

And while I'm wondering...........how does everyone end up in one small area to anchor up? I understand that the fish tend to use certain slots over and over but surely there must be fish all over the river? Could it be that just the sheer numbers of people in one spot makes it appear that fish can be caught there, because someone out of the whole bunch will eventually catch one?. What if the same number/concentration of boats were to converge on a normally unused area?
If someone quickly hooked a fish would everyopne now consider this a hot spot and all converge THERE next time?

Now you can see why I troll for trout- I just can't comprehend these fish! :depressed:

·
Registered
8,038 Posts
The summers aren't milling around like head of the channel springers are.

These steelhead have a long ways to go so they are on a mission. People do troll for them at the mouths of mid Columbia tribs after the water temp rises. When this happens the fish will hold up at the river mouths to take advantage of the cool water plumes.

They do some milling around on the lower Columbia trib mouths durring flood tide but once it ebbs and the current picks up the fish start moving.

To address your second thought, they are all over and if a huge group of boats decided to ancor up in a new spot they would have a new "hot spot" to some extent. But there are always some spots better than others.