IFish.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
831 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 21' Alumaweld Formula Vee Jet from a fellow ifisher just last week. :yay: I have fished the Columbia only 1 time so I'm a complete noob on the big C. I live in Troutdale and would like to go out and practice some trolling and anchoring while also making a good effort at catching a salmon.

If you were me where would you fish and what methods would you apply? I'm not going to try and fish buoy 10, I'd much rather keep it close to home while I'm learning the ropes.

Any advice is much welcomed, and say hi if you see me. :cheers:

·
Registered
3,787 Posts
I would say offer up a seat to someone who has experience with that style boat, and while fishing they could kinda go over the ropes with ya, first make sure you get a good anchor sytem if one didn't come with the boat.

As far as where to go, read some of the reports on here, they are getting them all over the Columbia in 30-50' of water using wobblers on a 5x5 system anchoring in the outgoing.

Thats what i gather:D

Good luck with the new boat :smash:

MD

·
Registered
14,157 Posts
GF,
Congrats on the new ride. Yes, post up an open seat for an experienced salmon fisher. Focus on familarizing yourself with every electrical connector on your new ride and make sure all the bilge pumps work...or better yet replace them w/ new. Read the manuals on your motors and keep electical schematics handy and basic tools handy for repairs. Eventually something will happen, haveing the knowledge and tools to deal with it will help greatly.
Good luck!
Hunt'nFish

·
Registered
3,061 Posts