IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this site so I thought I would tell a little about my self and my first fish. This is my first year of fishing. Actually I fished for some catfish in the early 80's with my Grandad. Any way I started fishing March 19th of this year. I had been fishing every day for about two weeks before work. Well I wake up on a Thursday Morning and don't really feel like fishing I know I am not going to catch anything but my son wakes up he is 1 yr old and my wife tells me it is my turn I then proceed to tell her I am going fishing. I go to the river and start fishing I wasn't down there 15 minutes before I get a huge snag or that is what I thought it was then Line starts comeing off and my rod starts bounceing. My heart starts raceing I have got a fish on I didn't quite know what to do till someone yells pick your rod tip up. I pick it up and my sences start to come back I faught the fish for about 7 or 8 minutes untill he was landed. A nic e Hatchery steelhead I had to ask someone if this wa a keeper for I had never seen a steelhead before and didn't know it that little nub on the back was a fin or not. I filled out my punch card and start to take my fish home. I get home and my hands were all tore up I didn't bonk my fish so he was still quite alive when I got home. I soon realize I have left my pole at the river and my fishing vest. I go back and I was very lucky that a guy there who I had seen quite a bit was watching my stuff for me. I have been hooked on fishing every since that day.

·
Registered
7,853 Posts
Welcome! Good story. Most of of us have done similar things. It's called "steelhead fever". Makes you lose your ability to think clearly

·
Administrator
119,612 Posts
Great story!

I remember those days of not knowing what was what!