IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Great board you folks have here, I make a point of stopping by here at least once a day.
My story is really my wife's story, when we first started dating many moons ago I took her summerun steelhead fishing on the North fork of the Skykomish. After loosing three fish in a row she was pretty fustrated! I told her to hang in there and her time would come. The next trip she landed a chrome bright 8LB hen out of a hole no bigger than 10' in dia. I still carry the picture
of her and that fish.I tell everyone that it's the only picture I have of her that's worth a damm!
On to the help section, I will be down your way the 10th-13th of this month in Eugene. I need to take my 14yo son out fishing, he's a die hard like me. I have no knowledge of that area and was looking for some suggestions. I'm game for any type of fishing. Help!

·
Registered
641 Posts
If your into trout, try blue river resivour, about 35 miles east of Springfield/Eugene up hwy 126. Was there last weekend. Hot, and by noon all the skiers and tubers are out, but its a huge resivour. Best fishing is just up fom the launch were it narrows, and also along the west side about 1/2 mi south of launch. Costs 3 american dollars to park.

·
Registered
3,827 Posts
If you're interested in steelhead again, either the McKenzie or the Middle Willammette should have plenty of hatchery fish.

·
Registered
7,854 Posts
I'd vote for the McKenzie. If you don't have access to a drift boat there are several places you could try. Cross the river at Leaburg Dam..park in the Hatchery parking lot and fish down the river as far as you have access. There is some pretty good holding water there for Summer Steelhead and trout

·
Registered
641 Posts
Hey lifeisgreat. Have you ever fished Ross Lake in the northern cascades? I am thinking of heading up there to camp/fish later this year.