IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,508 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I made the plunge and bought a boat - 1998 18' Alumaweld Super Vee. :grin:

Since this is my first boat, I'm kind of starting from scratch as to all the "extras" I need to purchase.

I have already bought some Scotty rod holders, an anchor and buoy system, lifejackets and fire extinguisher.

What else should I be looking into buying? Please give me as many ideas as you can think of as I want to completely outfit it right the first time (also while I have the money set aside to do it).

Thanks for everyone's input in advance.

Mike

[ 05-06-2003, 09:16 PM: Message edited by: blacktail ]

·
Registered
13,823 Posts
I am new to the sled game too. Besides tha basic safety stuff, I think I will fish it for a while and see what I need compared to what I want. I did this on the drifter and it actually turned into a boat in just 3 years!

It seems to me that it would be real easy to spend a lot of money on stuff that never gets used. I like minimum boats. No more James Bond stuff than necessary.

If I were to order a drifter today, I have a real good idea of what it would look like. 20 years ago( when i started rowing), I did not have a clue as to what I wanted.

My 2 cents.

Mark and the dog.

·
Registered
1,192 Posts
Ever notice the difference in the price for a new car advertised at a dealership and the price of a fully loaded comparable model ?

Here's where the fun starts with a new boat...
Sometimes outfitting the boat with all the extras costs as much as the damn boat itself.

Since I just went through this several months back, I will try to remember my list: