IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
14,760 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 20 1/2' Willie Predator open sled that I bought used about 4 years ago. It was mostly kept in the water and was on a 1 axle trailer.

Since I bought it I have put on a bigger main motor, kicker, seats and other stuff that all add weight.

I have pretty bad tire wear (even with good tires) and it seems like it is just too much weight for a single axle.

I'd like a two axle trailer. Although I fabricate for a living, I don't really like the idea of whackin up mine and fabbing new running boards, guides, etc. I'm considering buying a new trailer.

Any comments?

Who has an aluminum trailer? How yah like it?

If I buy a new one, I'll want to sell my old one.
:shrug:
Thanks,

GRB

[ 05-23-2003, 10:06 AM: Message edited by: Gun Rod Bow ]

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
GRB,

I have a Zieman dual axle, dual brake sled trailer. Weighs 1400 lbs with a 5600# capacity. Boat is 22'.

I'm looking for an aluminum trailer with 6000# capacity, hopefully about 800#. Trying to knock 1,000# off my current 6,900# trailer/boat load. Making sure the tank is near empty knocks off another 500#.

If I can find an aluminum sled trailer, new or used, the Zieman might be what you are looking for

Aluminum trailers seem hard to find so be curious to see what folks recommend to you.

I love the NorthRiver aluminum trailers. Wish I could get them to make me one for my boat.

Brion

·
Registered
287 Posts
I would look at the trailers that are very low to the ground. Makes getting the boat on and off the trailer alot easier. I have a tandum "Tricker Trailer" under my Weldcraft. Great trailer and gravel bar launches are a breeze with the low ride hieght.

·
Registered
8,838 Posts
Bruce,

I sure like my Rogue trailer. Galvinized and seems to be a perfect match for the Willie with 4 slides and a great rail system. Well, you know, you've seen it. It is a 2001.