IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to go fishing tommorow,but I went to look at my boat to see if there was a rock stuck in it and why it was louder and well I found the problem.My pump housing some how came loose and the bolts came out.One is stuck in the impeller.So how do I get them tight?? :shrug: I've never worked on one before and have no clue.This is my first boat.So If anyone can help me I'll take it wherever I have to and pay somebody to help me.I just really wanted to go tommorow :whazzup: If you have some input on this it would be great!!Thanx!!

[ 06-13-2003, 09:47 PM: Message edited by: justcastn ]

·
Registered
602 Posts
I dont know if this is correct but i was told you need to put lock tight which is some type of
tightener like glue you put on the thread of the bolts when putting them on. it keeps them from coming loose

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thats what I thought but someone must of forgot :shocked: But I don't know how to get to the bolts??

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Oh forget it :shrug: One of the bolts that hold the pump housing is bent from the impeller

·
Registered
6,938 Posts
If you use Loctite, make sure the threads are clean. Loctite makes a product called Kleen-n-Prime which activates the Loctite so it will work like it should. If you use the red Loctite, don't overdo it and squirt the stuff all over the place. You'll never get it apart again if you do. Sometimes it works too well.

·
Registered
1,023 Posts
If it were me, I'd re-do all the bolts. Carefull, they are not all the same length though. Go with the high quality stainless, well spent $$. Yes, the 242 Locktite and I always used lock washers, just make sure they are not too thick. If you have a bolt stuck in your impellor, I'm surprised you boat would even move!! You might check to see if you have one left. :depressed: LOL

Green Machine

·
Registered