IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m a newbie and I know a story is in order. So here goes. Remember though, this is my first time, so be gentle with me.
Years ago some friends and I camped beside a pretty mountain lake in the gorge. We arrived in the afternoon, set up camp, and went down to the lake to do some fishing. This was years before I got a float tube, so we took to the lake in a flotilla of rubber rafts. My companions headed for the lake armed with ultralite spinning rods and a collection of tiny spinners. I enjoy fishing with spinners too, but that afternoon I was in the mood to do a bit of fly fishing. So I grabbed my fly rod, and headed for the lake.
The water was like glass that afternoon, and the weedy northern end of the lake was dimpling with brook trout rising to sip tiny midges from the surface. The midges were so small that I would have needed a magnifying glass just to see what color they were. I didn't have any flies that size, nor were my fingers clever enough to tie flies I can’t see. So matching the hatch was out.
So I played a hunch, and tried a different tact. Instead of tying on a tiny fly, I tied a number 8 muddler on a 12 foot leader, and pinched one of those fluorescent foam strike indicators about 20 inches above the fly. Once I got out to where the fish were feeding on the midges, I cast the fly out and let it sink slowly for several seconds before giving it a twitch. The strike indicator acted like a little bobber, and when I gave the line a twitch, the muddler rose quickly to the surface. I hoped the brookies would mistake the muddler for a tiny fish rising to the surface to feast on the emerging midges.