IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
873 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many times have we learned of disasters on the Tillamook bay bar? Way to many. Over the years people have told me "It can be fixed" and I have to believe them. By dredging both the bar and middle grounds would allow enough water during ebb conditions into the entrance to contain swell surge to a minimum except under severe storm conditions. Over the years millions of dollars have been spent conducting studies which always indicate "dredging not necessary". I am not a marine engineer however a wave modeling software printout will show us "depth reduces swell breaks".

I believe if all of us ifish folks were to E-mail our U.S.Senators asking for them to support dredging Tillamook bay's bar, we could make a difference.

Gordon Smith (R)
[email protected]

Ron Wyden (D)
[email protected]

I hope I haven't offended anyone by this request, I just get sick to my stomach every time this happens.

Sincerely,

Sore Back

·
Registered
2,964 Posts
We should wait to see what the cause of this accident was before we attempt to find solutions.

Lets wait for the Coast Guard investigation to be completed
:depressed:

·
Registered
7,053 Posts
Nothing wrong with good intentions, but you'd have to fight every environmental group and bunny-hugger on the west coast for years before dredging. :hoboy:
Did the capsizing this morning happen on an ebb tide? I didn't check. :whazzup:

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Sore Back,

Over the years people have told me "It can be fixed" and I have to believe them.
<font size="2" face="verdana,arial,helvetica">Don't. They are wrong. Folks have been trying to keep the ocean in check and failing for some time, particularly on US coast lines.