IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
3,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a post the other day about a season for the June Chinooks.Im interested in learning more .
Will someone give me more info . I have fished the wind river for springers and anchored below Bonneville for springers . Is the June fishing similar, the same , or different. Thanks for any and all help. id. p.

·
Registered
339 Posts
We always seem to catch a few when we are bank fishing the columbia for steelhead! Try spin glows and sharp hooks! Heres a tip! Use pinks or greens!....shakerfish!....

·
Registered
3,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Im a school teacher and my summer (fishing) break is about to begin.
I have trolled herring , anchored with kwikfish and trolled with Mag. Warts for salmon on the columbia . Ive fished the White salmon River for Steelhead ( July, Aug.)Ive fished the Klik. for springs in June.. But i know absolutly nothing about the June hogs... Can you keep hatchery fish? How long does this run last? Can you catch um down river , closer to the salt??? Tell me more . id. p.

·
Registered
490 Posts
Geez, this term "june hogs" is getting thrown around alot. MGM says it. I'll repeat it. This strain of chinook formerly referred to as "June Hogs" was driven into extinction by Grand Coulee Dam. The term was derived from the fact that you could fish the Columbia in beautiful weather and catch chinook in the 80 pound range. If any one can do that now, I'll eat bait.

These beautiful fish swam up the Columbia to spawn in Canada. Ya got any fish doing that these days?

"The truth? You can't stand the truth!"

[ 06-05-2003, 03:03 PM: Message edited by: GoFish ]

·
Registered
1,705 Posts
I gotta laugh also, my experience with june hogs is listening to gramps tell of 40lbs being average and the one that got away that was 80lbs...

·
Registered
128 Posts