IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've drifted the sandy and I know the upper pretty well,but I have my sled now and I was gonna run up from chinook landing on sunday.I've never really seen the mouth up to lewis and clark is there anything to worry about??And which side should I stay to to run up the mouth??This is my first time taking my sled up any river so the help would be great.thanx.... :grin:

·
Registered
54 Posts
justcastn,

I took my jetboat towards the mouth of the sandy last fall, I think the mouth is split into 2 or 3 small streams. I was in the columbia and went towards the sany until the depth was less then 2 feet and it appeared to be getting more shallow, so I turned back.

·
Registered
4,002 Posts
It all depends on the water level. Right now you should be fine above the pilling hole for depth on the sand bar. Above the I-84 bridge and below the R&R bridge there is a lot of large boulders just under the surface, but they are very visable and easily avoided. At the current water level take the left fork above the R&R bridge into the Lewis and Clark ramp pool, the right fork is deeper, but there is a dead-head that you are sure to nail if you don't know exactly where it is, and you will sure to :mad: the plunkers in the shack on Sunday morning.

Becareful and safe!

[ 05-30-2003, 11:21 PM: Message edited by: ANDYCOHO ]

·
Registered
53 Posts
Hey,

please don't take your sled up the sandy unless the river is running a little high. This time of year it is not even close.

" Wow, look at the osprey! There's a mama merganser with her babies. Wow, I can't believe there's such a beautiful place so close to Portland!"
" Yea, it's a designated 'wild and scenic ri...WRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jeez, that jerk just blasted through the slot we're trying to fish!!"

Welcome to the lower Sandy!!

Ed

·
Registered
1,338 Posts