IFish.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to downrigger fishing and got some to do some kokanee and hopefully ocean salmon fishing this year. It seems to me that it would be logical to use them instead of lead dropper weight when trolling in the Willamette.
Is it because the bottom changes rapidly when you get out of the zone? Or is it because there are snags? Teach me please.

·
Registered
405 Posts
just speaking for myself, I have DR's for Kokanee and Ocean fishing. When I am fishing Willy or the channel, i have specific spots and they are not conducive to running DR's..... too shallow, too many last minute depth changes, etc. I might only be fishing 8 feet. Also, especially around Sellwood, Oregon City or the mouth or the channel, you don't want to be dealing with DR's in a group of boats. my opinion.

Miller marine makes an excellent rail that allows you to remove DR brackets when not in use. I only take my DR brackets when I am going to places where I am going to use them.

·
Registered
2,958 Posts
down riggers are a great tool.. I don't fish them be careful in crowded conditions, and have a go. I think you will be fine.

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
Downrigger weights are not cheap, The Willamette is full of snags. Downriggers are great for ocean Salmon, not so good in rivers.

·
Registered
2,335 Posts
Mostly downriggers are used when you go below 40 ft or uncertain twirly currents which won't let your setup stay down consistently. In my 5yrs of fishing on my own boat and on friends before that, never needed or been on the boat that needed them. I've seen some boats trolling around with those in willy, never seen rod go off. Willy currents can be heavy at times but nothing a 16 or 18 oz at most can't hold your setup consistent..even at 2.7 mph which is my tuna technique for springers..lol...and it works. Maybe it's my luck that I didn't get to lay my eyes on a DR strike..lol. You simply don't need em.