IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought my first four Alvin's. Should I put different hooks on these or leave them the heck alone. :whazzup: Do you put treble hooks on these or fish them as is ? Any hot tips on modifying these would be appreciated.

·
Registered
2,262 Posts
Put on a split ring and an Owner treble. Since I have switched I have never lost a fish....I think I use 2/0 treble... Good luck...

[ 09-06-2003, 03:25 AM: Message edited by: k9jeff ]

·
Registered
294 Posts
does it make THAT much difference whether you use a treble or single hook? I've always had better luck with single hooks, however, I'm not an expert.

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
I'm with K9jeff, but only one minor difference. I use one split ring that is the same size as the ring on the Alvin, then add one more that is about 1/2 the size as the other, and then a 2/0 Owner treble hook. My fish to boat ratio climbed noticebly. Main thing to remember wether you change things or not is that there is no substitute for sharp (and I mean sharp) hooks.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
I have been cutting the welded ring off my alvins, and then adding a split ring. Then I put a large swivel on the split ring and then attach a 6/0 Gama siwash hook.

I like the siwash hook, it makes it a lot easier to release fish. With this system so far this year I have had 6 bites with 6 fish landed.

·
Registered
13,829 Posts
Sharp hooks catch fish. Single or treble depends on current( if the thing spins with a single replace iot with a treble. the extra water pwessure on the mulitple hooks will slow it down some) speed.

The second split ring/ add a swivel sounds like a good idea. we do the same with our kwikfish and land a lot more fish because of it. Makes sense.

Mark and the dog.

·
Registered
1,462 Posts