IFish Fishing Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
336 Posts
I am a huge fan of homemade noodles. They do not require epic knowledge or effort to make, simple and easy really. I copied and pasted a recipe below that I have been using for 15 years. This is an Italian style recipe with semolina flour. You can find semolina flour in the bulk food section, or Bob's Redmill sells it prepackaged for a little more money. The flavor and texture of these noodles is it at a completely different level than anything I have ever bought at the store. It beats all fresh or dried commercial noodles. I prefer it fresh, but occasionally freeze uncooked noodles for easy use. It works for noodle soups, lasagna, spaghetti, fetuccini and so on.

Homemade Pasta Dough
1 1/2 pounds (665g) – 4 servings
7 ounces (200g) all-purpose flour (1 2/3 cups all purpose flour)
7 ounces (200g) semolina (1 1/4 cups semolina)
or 14 ounces (400g) flour
4 large eggs, at room temperature
Mix together the flour and semolina in the bowl of a stand mixer, or mix them up and create a mound on the counter top with a crater in the center. If using a stand mixer, add the eggs to the dough and mix them together with the paddle or dough hook until well mixed. On the counter top, crack the eggs into the center of the flour and semolina. Use your fingers to gradually draw the dry ingredients into the center, mixing them with the eggs. The dough will be hard to mix at first – a pastry scraper will help you draw it all together – but eventually it will come together and be relatively smooth.
Knead the dough with the heel of your hand for at least three minutes until the dough is very smooth. The dough should not feel sticky. If it sticks to your fingers, knead in a small amount of flour, just enough so your fingers come away clean when you pull them away. Wrap the dough and let it sit at room temperature for an hour.
(You can keep the dough for several hours at room temperature.)