IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to iFish (less than a week, thus my "Fry" status), so I don't know if this subject has been discussed much. I have been out fishing about 20 times this year, each time launching at Chinook Landing. There have been several times that I have observed guides coming in to crowded docks with their boats full of clients. The couple of guides who really stood out were those who were being impatient and who were getting frustrated. These guys were actually yelling at their clients, trying to get them to help dock the boats - it was obvious the cleints hadn't a clue what to do. Literally these guys were throwing tantrums and bellowing various explatives loud enough to be heard on the Sandy. Nice PR work for these guys. These are the guys that need to be setting the example - not contributing to an already tense situation. Anyone else witness this?

OregonRedside

·
Registered
235 Posts
"Guides are like a box of chocolate," my momma used to always say, "you never know what you're gonna get!" Seriously, though, I haven't seen the specific behavior you mention, but I have seen guides be guilty of the worst in poor manners on occaision. For the most part, fishing guides are great guys (and gals) and truly accomplished anglers. But some are just jerks with a boat. That's why you really have to support the good ones.

·
Registered
3,510 Posts
Who cares :shrug: let them lose clients for being "jerks of the docks" I yell at my idiot cousin every time we dock the boat, but that is my business

·
Registered
348 Posts
Last year my Dad took 4 of his business customers fishing at buoy 10 on a guided trip and that guide only hooked them one fish and when they got back to the dock the coho that the guide quickly placed in the fish box was a 9lb native!!! :hoboy:

·
Registered
15,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·