IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was flyfishing for them on the Oxbow resivor a few weeks back and hooked into a 30lb Carp. It had me in my backing in about 3 seconds. Just wondering if any messes around in the Portland area ever. Something to do until the good fish show up.

·
Administrator
41,361 Posts
What good fishing are you waiting for? B 10 is red hot, the Columbia is rockin', steelies and trout in the Deschutes, smallies in the Willamette, there's a ton of good fishing right now!

·
Registered
803 Posts
I've been flyfishing for carp 20 years or so. Got on to it by my inability to catch smallmouth on the fly. I saw a carp tailing in the shallow riffles and thought, "what the heck, give him a shot" and he took my black woolly worm and had me into my backing in a flash. Since then the sport has grown quite a bit. They now call them the "poor mans bonefish". They've even been on ESPN's Walker's Cay Chronicles. What pattern were you using on Oxbow? Also, like Pete said, "What good fish are you waiting for?" Tuna don't come up the C.

·
Registered
2,790 Posts
Saw a show on TV where they were fishing for grass carp with a fly in Florida. They used a fly tied to look like a berry that the carp would eat when they fell off a bush into the water.

The fights didn't last too long but that first minute or so.......WOW, look out.

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·