IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 20 of 3719 Posts

·
Registered
9,247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
IS there anyway we can get a sticky fly tying thread/fly's thread where we can ask questions about flys and tying and share different flys?

·
Registered
9,247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Wow thats a nice fly! I'll go first with the questions since im a beginner, can you use normal thread for like sewing to tie?

·
Registered
373 Posts
You can. Though sewing thread has a fairly large diameter most of the time. Really the only things it is good for is really large flies. Works great on steelhead jigs also. For most trout and steelhead/salmon flies you will find it is MUCH easier to tie with fly tying thread.

Wish I had a better camera, I'd post up some of mine.

·
Registered
9,247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok thanks, I need to buy sme tying thread then, any recommendations? Cause I got a cabelas kit for christmas and the thread seems to break alot.

·
Banned
1,232 Posts
How far are you from your nearest fly tying shop?

I like to use. 6/0 uni. http://rmdstore.com/thread-12/?zenid=a7b706335a200daacff30f2246ece326

You don't have to put tons of pressure on material to keep it on a hook. Thicker thread builds bulk quickly which can be bad for many fly patterns.

You first need to determine what you want to catch, the flies that are best suited for that, and then the materials to build those flys. Generally speaking, black or red 6/0 uni can be used to tie almost every pattern you want to fish with.....

You are starting so I make some generalizations, but the fine details take years and most are well beyond my desires or needs.....

A few I have tied and caught fish with......

·
Registered
374 Posts
I will play.. I just started tying about 2 weeks ago, but picked it up pretty quick..

Another verson..