IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took a three people out salmon fishing today on the Siuislaw. I am a novice, new this year, and none of them have ever been salmon fishing before. Luckily, we caught a 30-pound salmon this afternoon. It was the boat's first fish and our only fish of the day.

We fished from 7:30 am until 1:00 pm with no luck, but we did see a few boats landing fish so we were optimistic. We made a turn heading the boat back down river just below the Cushman bridge when a small boat in front of us nailed a fish. This guy was fishing alone and battled this fish for quite a while. When he went to net it his net broke and he nearly went into the water. Long story short, he landed the fish - a 34 pound male. We wished him congratulations and went back to our fishing.