IFish.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13,617 Posts
Depends on what experiences are discussed. I have been rowing for 20 years and I am at the top of my game. I know folks who do things that simply are beyond my skills. I figure I am in the 95% bracket. That last few points allows you to do the almost impossible. But getting there from here cannot be put in terms of hours on the oars. Sometimes dents in the boat and bug eyes are the only way to learn. Expensive lessons if you miscalculate. Which is why I am content not making those last few %age points.

Not trying to brag here. But like many things in life, it is hard to define when you arrive.

Mark and the bug eyed at times dog.

·
Registered
7,797 Posts
Interesting question. As UG said...with approximately that amount of experience, most people would be reasonably accomplished. I have always been a fairly aggressive boater, and have gotten in over my head more than once. I went through a learning curve...then reached a kind of "felt like an expert" zone where I felt invincible. Later a couple of experiences showed me that no matter how good or experienced you are, there is some water that can eat you.
Lat week a friend of mine died in a plane crash. He had thirty thousand hours. He was meticulous and careful. How much more experienced can you get? I love drift boating. I love big water...but I look at it all with a more conservative eye than I used to.

D

·
0 Posts
I would think one who has spent several hours on rivers and knows and understands their ablities with out getting to big of ego, also one who does not jeprodise thier own saftey or their passangers saftey. If you don't feel comfotable doing a particular strech or rapid then don't do it. Thier is no shame in not doing it but great shame and embarassment (at the very least)if you try somthing to difficult and have a mishap. Don't over judge your abilities or underestimate a rivers' power, stay safe.

·
Registered
13,617 Posts