IFish.net banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
536 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Went from the coast to cental oregon, new 50hp Honda is stalling out on the high lakes, but the kicker has no issues. If I have the engine adjusted for altitude here, will I need to adjust later at the coast or will it just run at a higher idle? When it runs, it runs, but at low idle or nuetral it cuts out. Typical issue?

·
Registered
424 Posts
I'm not a mechanic but i have been told that if you rejet it(it needs more than jsut screw turning adjustment) for altitude you need to rejet it back when you come down to sea level because you will be running too lean or too rich depending on which way it is rejetted for which atltitude you are at if you leave it the same for both.. I do know this though. Your motor however should not cut out or die even with it unaltered. I have a 2002 90HP Honda on a 17' Sylvan. i cannot get on a plane at Paulina with 3 larger people in the boat unless they are at the front. i also have a 2002 9.9HP Honda on the back. Both motors run fine at paulina which is 6380 feet. They start, idle, and run fine clear up to the highest RPM which they can achieve. There is no cut out, dying, or hesitation, or hard start with either one up there or down here. They just won't get near the rpm and of course the speed they will down heere. And it is dramatically less. My recommendation would be to go talk to the dealer or a honda authorized repair person.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Your engine is having a problem with getting enough fuel. The main engine should run just fine at that altitude. The kicker motor running fine is a good clue about what your main motor is having a problem.

Call the dealer that sold the engine to you and have them check it out. If you have any external fuel filters, you should check them out and replace if needed.