IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right now I've only got a single in my 18' Weldcraft Renegade. After running my finder and CD player, sometimes I get worried I'm draining the juice. How do you rig two batteries? How do you harness them both?

·
Registered
2,943 Posts
You need 2 minimum. I just recently had 3 installed for maximum redundancy. I was having problems originally with enough juice and didn't want to worry about getting stranded in the ocean.

I had somebody wire it. I am not an electrician.
You will need a Perko switch for the total connection.

I would do it asap!!

·
Registered
2,960 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I know, I need to get it done, I'm just seeing if I can rig it myself. Hopefully I can get enough insight to do it myself. If not, how much did it cost you RR?

·
Registered
16,595 Posts
Do a search, this same subject was discussed about a week or so ago.

JK

·
Registered
5,808 Posts
You can do it yourself, just be warned, that if you make a mistake the cost to repair the damaged gear could easily pass the cost to have someone do the work for you.

There was a great thread on this about 2 weeks ago Also here are 2 links that I found informative.
Electrical 1

Electrical 2

EK

·
Registered
217 Posts
I'd do it A.S.A.P,,,I pulled in a New ThunderJet from the mouth of the Sandy Wednesday
, He had only a single Batt.. Buy a Perko Switch,,,, Rotate running on #1 an then #2....an Never switch to off when running!..Easy to wire also! Jack Glass took his picture while being pulled in mya mule* :grin: ...bet he went out an gota second batt an switch

·
Registered
217 Posts
I'd do it A.S.A.P,,,I pulled in a New ThunderJet from the mouth of the Sandy Wednesday