IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Ichthyomaniac
3,187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lavro and a 14' skiff with a 15hp in my fishing arsenal. I have been thinking I would like to upgrade the skiff to a bigger heavy gauge alum boat, but the budget outlook and the advice of nonfishing butters-in argue that to do so I would have to sell the drifter as well.

So I ask you: If you were limited to one or the other, what would you choose? I am not so much looking for advice, but rather to know what you prefer based on your type/locations of fishing, aesthetic tastes, "cause thats what dad had" kind of reasons, etc.

BTW, I am new to the school of fry, and happy to be (virtually) among others who are fascinated by any activity involving pursuit of fish with a hook and line.

·
Registered
12,322 Posts
Ifishers are probably tired of hearing this, but since you are new I'll repeat it. I've had drift boats, rafts of all descriptions, catarafts, rowboats, little sleds, big bazooba boats (jet and prop), etc. For me and my kind of fishing (small waters, the Columbia bars, etc.) a small sled is the answer. Currently that is a 16 ft Grumman jon boat with a Merc 30 jet and a trolling motor. Cheap, utilitarian, practical. I pull it with a little weenie Nissan 4 X 4, so I save on that cost too.

It all depends on your favorite fishing.

·
Registered
135 Posts
wow tuff question. hope someone with more knowledge than myself anwsers your question, welcome aboard. :wink:

·
Registered
3,510 Posts