IFish.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm setting up a set of downriggers. Do you guys like to power them off the non-engine-start battery? My understanding of ocean salmon trolling is I'll keep the motor going on the troll, and no real engine-off drifting in this particular fishery, so can't see specific need for them powered off bat1 or bat2 only. I'm new to this equipment and ocean trolling using them, so asking. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
8,758 Posts
My DRs work best off my biggest battery. I have 2 batteries, but don't really consider either to be a house battery or a start battery, just redundant batteries, but one is larger, I think a group 31, but that's from memory.

IMO if you're using the DRs a lot, as in up and down frequently, it's best to use a battery that gets recharged by your motor land even better if that's a big battery.
ron m

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Excellent points. Thanks, Ron.
Forgot to say the batt's are equal size, wired in parallel, so when one's charging so is the other. The boat is wired so you can isolate one or the other bat, depending on pole position.

·
Registered
131 Posts
I have a house battery and an engine battery I wired the riggers to my kicker/house battery as it gives a small amount of charge while trolling. I also have a combiner switch as if one battery goes down I can combine them to get home if needed.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Combiner switch?
Most batt cutoff switches ive seen have this funtion...
Posit 1- batt 1
Posit 2 - batt 2
Posit 3 - batt 1 & 2
Posit 4 - off

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #6