IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,927 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I like trolling in Green Peter and Lake Billy Chinook but the weights needed in deep lakes take all the action away.

I'm thinking of purchasing a couple small hand operated downriggers. I want to use them on my small aluminum boat. I've used the big electric ones commercial fishing with my dad years ago but I'm not experienced at all with these small ones.

I am just starting my research so any suggestions on brands pros/cons, features etc would be more information than I have.

Thanks,

·
Registered
720 Posts
I use a couple "cheap" canon clamp-ons when lake fishing. No counters, one turn = 1ft. they work, get the bait down where I want it.

tight lines

·
Registered
771 Posts
kokanee-killer:

I use different methods at different lakes, and depends on how deep the fish are. I use a cannon eazy-toll 2 with a 4# weight. I attach a set of flashers to the ball and use a stacker and release about a foot above the ball. The best release I've found for Kokanee is make by Sep's, it is yellow and comes with a stacker. Fisherman's Supply carries them. I also fish those places you mentioned and a few more. I'm also a Kok-freak.

Aufish101

·
Registered
6,936 Posts
I use the exact same method as Aufish, except for the release. Works great.

·
Registered
568 Posts
I have both a Cannon and a Walker clamp-on type. I prefer the Walker simply because the clamp is all aluminum and it has an attached rod holder. It even came with a 6# ball and 100' of cable. I think I paid something like $75 for it a few years ago out of Cabella's I think. Both work great when trying to get those kokes in the 40' to 50' range. Good luck! :smile:

Day Late

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Scotty (1050 or 1060)- 2 ft./turn, counter, 200 ft. cable, automatic brake in case of accidental release of the handle(great feature)