IFish Fishing Forum banner
  • Are you passionate about fishing? Would you like to write about topics that interest you and get paid for it? Read all about it here!
1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
8,727 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this boat fishing and I was wondering why you all have kicker moaters on your boats, is it incase your big moter dose not start? I figuer you need one if you have a jet pump but if you have a prop on say a 75 horse 4 stroke with a trolling plate would you still need one? just tring to learn here.Cheers Rich

·
Registered
2,176 Posts
Lots of factors really. For folks who fish in the salt, a kicker is considered an extra safety measure, as it can be a long ride home if having to be towed in behind the coasties.

Also, a small kicker can be used as a trolling motor to conserve fuel costs.

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
gottafish,

The kickers are for trolling. The big engine will usually push you too fast in a lot of conditions.

I like the insurance idea but if it wasn't for the trolling, I'd only have one engine and call SeaTow if I lost it.

Also, on the small engine for trolling, you buy cool stuff like the TR1 auto pilot control.

If you are buying a boat, look for one that has an integral trolling motor mount vs. the add on mounts.

Brion

·
Registered
10,068 Posts
Why stop at one kicker? An electric has advantages too! :rolleyes:

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
Lots of factors really. For folks who fish in the salt, a kicker is considered an extra safety measure, as it can be a long ride home if having to be towed in behind the coasties.

Also, a small kicker can be used as a trolling motor to conserve fuel costs.