IFish Fishing Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to hear all the in and outs of deadrise. I'd like someone to start by explaining just exactly what it is and then go into the benefits of a steeper deadrise versus a larger angle.

This is for my benefit as I research boats. I can't figure out why they make different hulls. It seems that a 16 degree deadrise that would work well in the ocean should also work well in the rivers. Or, does it have something to do with the draft. (it makes sense that a hull with an "ocean" deadrise would have more of a draft due to Archimedes Principle.) I'm not really trying to overanalyze but am very curious about this stuff. (I am an engineering student)

So, Let's hear it!

[ 09-01-2003, 11:41 PM: Message edited by: ScottyV ]

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Yeah, I got the general understanding. I am going to have to experience some different types though. I am curious what is the difference in draft? I want a boat that will venture out into the ocean but is primarily a river boat. I really like the Hewescraft 18" sportsman.

I can't figure out why ocean hulls that have a really steep deadrise are desired. They are great when you are underpower and headed straight into the swell but the second you take one on the side WOOHOO, are you going to roll. It also seams that a steeper deadrise is more likely to rtake water over the bow.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Might want to look at the 18" sportsmans bigger brother, if you plan to go over the bar. I think you can trust the engineers from most any of the manufacturers....check their sled hulls, and their salt water hulls. North River Seahawk is a prime example, as is Willies Asaltor. CHeck their web pages to see what they say about them. THe beam,and the dead rise both figure into stability. Most boats with deeper vee's tend to be a bit wider to alleviate the roll. Russ

·
Registered
13 Posts